Iowans Vote Out Pro-Gay Marriage Justices

Change these words:

Her friend and neighbor Cathy Hackett, 38, took the opposite view. “I voted no for every single one of them,” said Ms. Hackett, a customer sales representative who described herself as a conservative Christian. “I’m not anti-gay. I love everybody. But I believe that if two people are going to marry they should be a man and a woman.” NYT

to

Her friend and neighbor Cathy Hackett, 38, took the opposite view. “I voted no for every single one of them,” said Ms. Hackett, a customer sales representative who described herself as a conservative Christian. “I’m not anti-mixed marriage. I love blacks and whites. But I believe that if two people are going to marry they should be of the same race.”

It’s the same argument, because it’s the same bigotry against two consenting adults who want to marry, but can’t because of oppressive social opinion and oppressive laws. Happy election results everyone.

Mixed marriages were illegal until Loving vs Virginia.

This entry was posted in Human Rights, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

