Reading List

Due to lack of anything to write about, here are some books.

I don’t have too much time to read these days; usually only 15 minutes every morning on the Metro. I do enjoy reading though, so I thought I’d put together a list of books I really enjoyed, am enjoying, and will hopefully enjoy in the near future.

Recommended by the George:

Demon Haunted World by Carl Sagan. A must read for anyone claiming they are a “skeptic.” This is a fascinating look into why we think the way we do, and Carl Sagan’s way with words and thorough arguments are a joy to read. If you do not own a copy, buy one right now. Seriously.

Anything, really, by Phillip K. Dick. He has a very unique way of creating twisted worlds, making you feel uncomfortable in them, and blowing your mind with crazy ideas. Many of his books and short stories have been made into movies (Blade Runner, Total Recall, Minority Report). I recommend one of the anthologies I linked to, only because they are compact and easy to carry around. One of the few people who have truly mastered the sci-fi genre. One of his books I spent the entire time thinking everyone was completely insane.

A Canticle for Lebowitz by Walter Miller. Post apocalyptic world, three completely different time frames, religious imagery meets science and math (there is not science or math in the book though), and good story telling. Sometime dark, sometimes hopeful, and always a great read.

Things the George is currently reading:

Anathem by Neil Stephenson. I’m about halfway through this 1000 page monster, and I’ve enjoyed every line of every page. With the exception of Lord of the Rings, I have never read a book that so totally immerses you into another world. If you are impatient, don’t bother picking this up. There really was no plot for the first 200 pages. There are also long passages of dialogue and debate that have been really fun to read.

Things the George will read, eventually:

The Large, the Small, and the Human Mind by Roger Penrose. Quantum mechanics and consciousness, how can I resist?

Yes, these all relate to science or science fiction. I’m a giant nerd, as if you needed any more proof.

EDIT: I completely forgot that Ben Goldacre’s book, Bad Science: Quacks, Hacks, and Big Pharma Flacks is now out in the U.S. Add this one to my list of “Will Read” books.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

